Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


The male student-athlete of the year award is named after Larry E. Spaulding, a young man who lost his life in the Vietnam War in 1969. He was a skillful athlete, a loyal and dedicated competitor and to quote his coach, “a thoroughly nice likable fellow.”

Year Larry E. Spaulding Male Athlete of the Year Female Athlete of the Year
2018 Cameron Leech Shelby Puccio
2017 Jon Carr Kristina Clark
2016 Terrence Johnson Kaitlyn Brock
2014 Scott Witmyer Kristina Clark 
2013 Terrence Johnson Cathleen Curran 
2012 Scott Merrill Kaitlyn Brock 
2011  Blake McCurdy Cree Gurney 
2009 Gabe Adams   
2008 Duncan Herder  Shilah Rose 
2007 Justin Bowyer  Laura Lindsay 
2006 Gregory David  Jennifer Longstaff
2005   Jerre Carter 
2004 Nathan McQueen  Cheryl Buss 
2003 Alan Cowley  Emily Glunz 
2002 Will Cowley   
2001 Brian Bowyer   
2000 Matthew Mayer  Sonya Carter 
1999 Brett C. Carter  Whin Brown 
1998 Isaac Smith Shannon Eidse 
1997 Greg Henderson  Miranda Schnarr 
1996 Craig Cooper Jenny Pokorny 
1995 Jonas Mphatse  Stephani Kuhl
1994 Greg Henderson  Sarah Cooper 
1993 Erik Parker Jenny Pokorny 
1992 Clifford Mayer  Amy Buick 
1991   Lauren Rogers 
1990 Dale Fielder Sharon Boericke 
1989 Brian Henderson Katie Goodenough 
1988 Cameron Pendleton  Kathy Boericke 
1987 Wade Heinrichs  Marah Pendleton
1986 Glenn Gurney Robin Asplundh 
1985 Garth Wyncoll  Blake Genzlinger 
1984 Keith Henderson  Beth Anderson 
1983 Rick Smith   
1982 Robert Simons   
1981 Conrad Zecher  Dorothy Jewell 
1980 Tim Stein Kristin Gurney 
1979 David Hotson   
1978 David Hotson   
1977 Steven Hendricks   
1976 Brian Scott Horigan   
1975 Alvin Friesen   
1974 Donald S. Schnarr   
1973 Ronald McQueen   
1972 Michael Pisey   
1971 Robert Eidse   
1970 Michael D. Glenn